Press Release

Two Claremont Scholars Awarded Prestigious Bradley Prize

Claremont, CA—The Claremont Institute is pleased to announce that Claremont senior fellows Charles Kesler and Allen Guelzo are two of three recipients of the prestigious 2018 Bradley Prize, a high honor bestowed upon distinguished individuals who have influenced American scholarship and debate.

“The Bradley Foundation made superb selections in Charles Kesler and Allen Guelzo, both leading scholars of America dedicated to restoring the principles of the Founding to preeminent authority in our national life,” said Claremont President Ryan Williams. “We find ourselves embroiled in a great national debate about the future of America, and we are blessed to have as our guides noble and public-spirited scholars like Charles and Allen. Their work is not just for the academy—it is nothing less than the scholarship of the politics of freedom.”

Editor of the Claremont Review of Books and distinguished professor of government at Claremont McKenna College, Charles Kesler has written extensively on American constitutionalism and political thought. His edition of The Federalist Papers (Signet Classics) is the best-selling edition in the country, and his illuminating 2012 book on the progressivism of Barack Obama, I Am The Change, attracted wide acclaim. Kesler’s work frequently appears in The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post, among others.

“Charles Kesler is one of the leading intellectuals in American political thought today. Through his distinguished work, he is informing the debate on critical issues and shaping many of the next generation’s leaders,” said Richard Graber, President and CEO of the Bradley Foundation.

Allen Guelzo is a distinguished Civil War historian and Lincoln scholar. He currently serves as the Henry R. Luce Professor of the Civil War Era at Gettysburg College. Named one of Power Line’s 100 “Top Professors” in America, Guelzo is an award-winning author who has written for and appeared in numerous media outlets, including the Claremont Review of Books and the Wall Street Journal.

This year’s prizes, which include a $250,000 stipend, will be awarded at the 15th annual Bradley Prizes ceremony on Tuesday, May 15th at the National Building Museum in Washington, D.C. Past recipients of the prize include Charles Krauthammer, Thomas Sowell, Larry P. Arnn, Heather Mac Donald, Walter E. Williams, John Bolton, and Victor Davis Hanson.